Yankee Stadium opened in 1923. Dubbed "the house that Ruth built," Gehrig made just as many memorable contributions to
the stadium's historical value. He was the first Yankee-- and first sports figure-- to have his jersey number retired. He
was the second Yankee to have a plaque dedicated to him in Memorial Park.
To see a close-up of those areas of the stadium noted above, click the appropriate link:
First Base Flag Pole Home Plate Memorial Park
Read the companion, first-hand account of a Yankee Stadium tour, written by MoreGehrig's "Jersey branch," Lucille T. Lasky-Nuzzi
- Finding Lou's Spirit